top of page
  • Writer's pictureKurtis Tatkenhorst

July 5- US Wins 2015 Women's FIFA World Cup

2015- On this day in Sports History, the United States Women's National Team became World Champions as they won the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup. They beat Japan 5-2 in the Final to become the first country to win the Women’s World Cup three times. It was their first World Cup Championship since 1999 as they redeemed their loss to Japan from the previous 2011 World Cup Final where they lost in penalty kicks.

The 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup was held in Canada. The US got first place in their group with wins over Australia and Nigeria and a draw against Sweden. They then beat Colombia, China, and Germany to make it to the final. After the US gave up one goal against Australia in their first game, they did not allow another goal until the finals. Goalkeeper Hope Solo went five straight games without allowing a goal.

In the Final of the 2015 Women's World Cup, the US started out fast by taking a 4-0 lead in the first 16 minutes of the game. Carli Lloyd scored in the 3rd and 5th minute. Lauren Holiday then scored in the 14th minute. Carli Lloyd then made another goal in the 16th minute as she scored from just across midfield. The three goals scored by Carli Lloyd was the first hat trick in a Women's World Cup Final. It was also the fastest hat trick scored in a Mens or Women's World Cup game in history.

After a quick 4-0 start by the US, Japan scored their two goals in the 28th and 52nd minute to make the score 4-2. Japan’s two goals are the first goals given up by Hope Solo and the US defense after 540 scoreless minutes in the World Cup. Tobin Heath then responded in the 54th minute with a goal for the US with an assist from Morgan Brian. That was the last score of the game as the United States won 5-2.

Wang Lili/Xinhua /Landov

On July 5th, 2015, the United States got to celebrate a World Cup Championship. The 5-2 final is the highest scoring game in a Women’s World Cup Final game. Carli Lloyd was named the Golden Ball award for the best player in the tournament. She is the second ever American to win the award with the other coming in 1991. Hope Solo was also named the Golden Glove award for the best goalkeeper in the tournament.

Be sure to subscribe to receive a story in your email each morning.

Also be sure to follow our social media accounts on Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook.

Find more awesome previous posts at


“World Champions: USA Wins 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup.” US Soccer, US Soccer, 5 July 2015

“U.S. Defeats Japan to Win 2015 FIFA Women's World Cup.” USA Today, Gannett Satellite Information Network, 6 July 2015

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • Pinterest
  • Instagram
bottom of page